Eden World Women’s Snooker Championship 2017 is set to go

Eden World Women’s Snooker Championship 2017

The draw for the group stage of the 2017 Eden World Women’s Championship which will take place at the Lagoon Billiard Room in Toa Payoh, Singapore from 13-19 March 2017 has now been done.

Of the 32 contenders, the top eight players have been seeded in accordance with the updated ranking list following the February’s Connie Gough Trophy and kept apart during the group stage. In a draw carried out by tournament organizers Cuesports Singapore, the remaining players have been put into the eight groups, with no two players from the same country in each group.

Moreover, only two players will advance from each of the groups and will be seeded into the knock-out quarterfinals depending on their scores during the group stages.

Eleven-time world women’s champion UK’s Reanne Evans will be playing in Group C and will kick off her title defense against international oppositions such as Indian sensation Suniti Damani, Singapore’s Hoe Shu Wah, and Thailand’ Nutcharut Wongharuthai.

Asian No.1 and 2015 world champion Hong Kong’s Ng On Yee will take on India’s Chitra Magimairaj, winner of the senior’s competition at the 2016 World Women’s Championship. Singaporean number one Charlene Chai and Ireland’s Ronda Sheldreck are also in the same group.

Correspondingly,  players from 10 different countries, including a mix of WLBS newcomers and some more top notch players, will give it all to earn the most prestigious prize in world women’s snooker this year.

The event is set to be officially launched on Sunday 12 March 2017 with a pre-tournament reception at the quintessential Marina Bay Sands building, Singapore.

Adam is an aspiring writer and an artist who plays with his band on the weekends. He loves to write about sports and watch them live any chance he gets. His favorite movie is "Home Alone". He loves watching his home team Birmingham City FC play while listening to House Music. Favorite Teams - Basketball: Spurts, Football: NY Jets, Soccer: Birmingham City FC.